Cover Letter

Dear portfolio readers,

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. English was never really a subject I enjoyed very much and had a hard time with throughout my teenage years in school. It was cause of my lack of maturity and lack of wanting to learn anything that made it that way. So I decided to take a break from school and start working after I graduated. I was in and out of jobs and felt like something was missing from my life. I then decided in fall of 2013 to go back to college and continue my education. I am now twenty four years old and I can say that I don’t regret returning back to school. I’ve matured a lot and felt more focused. At first when I decided to take this course I was a bit hesitant. I haven’t done essays or research papers for a long time but I came in with an open mind. I’ve learned a lot from this class and felt it opened up another creative aspect. I’ve enjoyed this course and I hope you enjoy some my writing.

Our last assignment in this course was to write a research paper. I decided to write my research about cell phones and smartphones. That was because I knew a great amount about it and I can observe them almost everywhere I go. When beginning to brainstorm about this topic I came up with so many different ideas I could’ve written about but when reviewing what I had on paper with Mrs. Pappas, I can see why my topic was such a broad topic. So I decided to narrow down my research but still get in everything I felt was necessary and not take away from my original concept of the paper. I felt I was in good shape and that my research felt on point with everything I wanted to explain.

Our third assignment was annotations. This assignment I believe was the most difficult one by far for me to write about. I really didn’t have a clue what annotations meant and I didn’t know where to begin. After going through a few examples in class I started to kind of get an idea what it was about. I chose to write about graffiti and not just about graffiti, but also about a place called 5 Pointz that resides in New York. I’ve never written a paper on annotations before but at least I found a topic I was very interested in. I had to really find some good good enough sources and it was hard at first but then I kicked into a rhythm. I would like to try this type of assignment again knowing what I know now.

My last essay in the portfolio was the memoir assignment. This to me was my favorite assignment to work on and probably my most favorite paper out of everything I’ve wrote in the course. It was actually the first assignment we had to do in class. We had to either write about creativity, curiosity, or persistence and how it is played out in our own life. I chose to write about persistence and how it is related to what I do and that is break dancing. It was something I started to do for fun in my high school years but then I grew and still have such a love for it. So this paper is actually a sneak peek into what I do. Also this assignment helped me look forward to what this course had in store for me.

Even though I felt that I was off to a rough start I did really enjoy this course and kept an open mind. It changed my aspect on English and I’ve learned lots from it. I believe that I have definitely become a better writer and how to really start my assignments. I’ve also learned that it isn’t just about writing, but about creativeness. Using words to describe out a scenery with such detail to imagine it in the reader’s minds. I’ve unlocked my creative side through writing and because of that, I grew a somewhat likeness towards writing. I would like to thank the readers once again on taking the time to read some of my work. I enjoyed writing it very much and hope that you too will enjoy reading it.

Best regards,

Pheaktra Sambun

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *